Minnesota is considered a “no-fault” state when it comes to automobile insurance claims, but the attempt to reduce the burden on courts and provide immediate relief to victims does involve complications. When a person’s expenses for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages exceeds the limit of his or her Personal Injury Protection (PIP) policy, he or she can file a claim with the negligent driver’s insurer.
People in these types of cases can face a number of challenges. In addition to scrutiny from their own insurance companies, the insurers for negligent drivers will similarly challenge the validity of personal injury claims.
If you were seriously injured or your loved one was killed in an automobile accident in Minnesota, it is in your best interest to quickly contact JD Haas & Associates. Call (952) 345-1025 to have our experienced personal injury attorneys review your case and discuss all of your legal options during a free consultation.
Minnesota Car Accident Laws
Motorists in Minnesota are required by law to maintain automobile insurance policies that satisfy certain minimums. For example, a PIP policy must provide at least $40,000 per person in a single accident, $20,000 for medical bills, and $20,000 for other non-medical expenses such as lost income.
Additionally, drivers have to maintain insurance policies that provide liability coverage with a minimum of $30,000 for injuries to one person, $60,000 for injuries to multiple people, and $10,000 for property damage. Motorists also need to have uninsured coverage providing at least $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for injuries to multiple people as well as underinsured coverage that satisfies the same limits.
Under Minnesota’s no-fault system, people file claims with their own insurance companies to seek compensation for their damages. People should not assume an insurer will automatically be inclined to fully compensate individuals for their claims just because they are customers of the insurance company. In truth, all insurance companies seek to pay as little as possible to resolve all claims.
For this reason, it is critical for any person who has been injured in a car accident to retain legal counsel immediately. Under Minnesota Statute 541.07, a person has only two years to file a personal injury lawsuit.
Find a Minnesota Car Accident Lawyer
Were you severely injured or was your loved one killed in a car crash anywhere in Minnesota? Do not make any recorded statement to an insurance company until you have legal representation. Contact JD Haas & Associates as soon as possible.
Our firm can conduct a diligent independent investigation into your accident to preserve important evidence and hold all negligent parties fully accountable. We can negotiate with insurance companies to help you obtain all of the compensation you need and deserve, and our attorneys are not afraid to file a lawsuit when an insurer is unwilling to provide adequate relief.
JD Haas & Associates represents clients in communities all over Minnesota. You can have our lawyers provide a complete evaluation of your case as soon as you call (952) 345-1025 today.